giovedì 26 luglio 2007
Getting better
So, I'm feeling a bit better from the sickness now. I had a trim yesterday (not that anyone could tell) and i got myself a bit of a fringe, thingo. I like it. I'm trying to do more with the mop, make it look a little more interesting than just being straight. Straighteners are such fun, really. You can do so much more than just straighten your hair. It is a misleading name for them. They should be Hair Do-Whatever-You-Wants, or Hair Thingos. Yep...i can see that name selling...Anyway, I went to Motorace concert last night with signif. other, his flat-mate and a friend of his. It was really good. I didn't previously know a lot of Motorace songs, only a couple, but it was really a great gig. It's so refreshing to hear a band play live and not sound like they're either all drunk, or sound like the actual band forgot to show up so the roadies pretended. I hate that people in the music industry get there based on absolutely shit-all talent. That mostly applies to soloists, not bands, although there are some shit bands around.I mean, what hope does a little nobody like me have in the music business? I'm not blonde and drop-dead gorgeous, so that's that out the window. I think I have a reasonable good voice, but it doesn't matter what I think, other people have said they like my voice before and I don't think they were just saying it to be nice (who knows, they might have been) either. I love to sing, it's probably the best thing on Earth to do - especially with people listening who are enjoying it too. I would absolutely LOVE to make it in the industry - whether in a band or solo, I wouldn't mind - because I believe I could make real music.It's so hard these days, because everyone new to the industry just releases poppy, bouncy, teeny-bopper music that basically gets stuck in your head whether you want it to or not, and then suddenly they're a superstar, based on what? The fact that someone else wrote them a really annoying, pop melody, and used machines to make their voice actually sound good, or because they actually started off with a real talent and people appreciate it? Obviously, it's the former.What happened to real music? Where are bands that people will remember for decades to come? People are in the spotlight today and gone tomorrow these days. Where are people like Billy Joel, The Beatles, Roy Orbison, The Carpenters, The Eagles, Marvin Gaye, Queen, Simon & Garfunkle - these are classic artists that are living on today and will still be remembered tomorrow. We don't see that anymore. There aren't any artists today with the longevity of the artists of yesterday. A few tracks, maybe a couple of albums that do all right, and five years later who remembers them?I can't be the only one who wishes there was more meaning to music these days. Admittedly, there are a lot of great artists out there and there are some great tracks, but SOOOOO much of today's music is just meaningless, catchy stuff. Don't get me wrong, catchy, enjoyable music is really important, but music should be able to do both - be catchy and have some meaning in it.Commercialising the music industry is it's biggest downfall. Now it's all about pumping out the albums and selling as many as possible. The people behind the music are not interested in what they're selling, they just want to make sure they sell it - and LOTS of it. That's why little nobodies like me will probably never see the light of day in the music industry, cos I mean really, you've gotta be totally in the right place at the right time (which is never for most people) and have the right person find you, because if you don't fit the bill in some way, then you've got no hope. And if you're a chick, you've GOT to be a looker, or you're definitely a goner.Unfortunately for me, I'd need about a million dollars worth of plastic surgery before I'd even be close to having the right face for the cover of a CD. So, I guess it's time to move on from that idea.*gets off soap box*
venerdì 13 luglio 2007
Bad patient
God I hate it when I'm sick. I know I'm hardly knocking on death's door or anything, I'm suffering badly with hayfever mostly and possibly an oncoming cold, but other than that it's not the end of the world. I have a ridiculously annoying cough that won't give me a minute's peace, too. That's the hardest for me to deal with cos I can't sing properly. Singing is my vice - I HAVE to sing all the time and when I can't, I don't cope well.That whole thing about doctor's being the worst patients...I'm thinking of going to medical school. No really, I'm wondering if I'm supposed to be a doctor, cos I'm the worst person to be around when I'm even a little sick. I try to be all happy and everything, but mostly I'm just a cranky bitch. I can't help myself. I'm best left alone when sick, cos company just frustrates me. People want to make you better and everything and I just think "ahh! I'm not bleeding to death so there's nothing you can do, is there?! So clearly, you just have to put up with me and leave it alone. I'll get better."What a bitch I am, lol. No, I'm not that bad really, I just get a little short tempered when people keep asking if there's anything they can do, which clearly they can't. Silly, but that's the way it is for me. I wanted to make an icon, but I couldn't even get myself into the mood for that. Now that is really sad.None of the pics were good enough, lol. And the ones that were required too much work to make them look the way I wanted, so I just ended up too frustrated and gave up.Blah to it all, then, ai? I'm just gonna crawl back over to Word and keep going with my fic. When you feel frustrated, you can always take it out on your fic victims...*laughs maniacally and goes back to fic*
mercoledì 11 luglio 2007
My website
I definitely should do something about my site. I haven't even checked it out in over a year! Slack, I know. I shouldn't say I haven't got the time, because I kinda do, but I just never get around to it. I guess I'm quite envious of everyone else's websites, cos they're all so swell and mine is just ordinary.Anyway, I'm really enjoying making icons at the moment. Such fun, it is.Arrietty, thank you, thank you for your comments on the fic. You weren't too gentle were you? I did want your honest opinion. Well, I hope you were honest. Thank you anyway, very helpful hints. I hope you really enjoyed it. I am really pleased with this fic so far. I hope it turns out really well. I actually got the idea for it when I was watching the Season 1 box set. During Fire and Water (an ep I hadn't seen in a while) I was thinking a lot and the idea really just came to me.Well, there you go. That's about it. If anyone else wants a go at beta-reading the fic for me just for the hell of it and for me to get another opinion, I'd be grateful.Oh! And those icon challenges. I want to know about those. Someone please point me in the direction of those. Loves it! *grinz*P.S. Need help with fic title, too, Arrietty. Suggestions?
lunedì 9 luglio 2007
Always something
Gosh there's always something, isn't there? Always something to worry about, something to make you upset. Hence my new icon, really. Comments?Jacksrubberduck, I notice you have many posts throughout the day. Do you remember me? Please feel free to say, "Nope, totally have no idea who you are." I'm sure you would anyway, lol. Anyway, I was just thinking about all your icons. They really are very cool. For a lot of them, I wonder what gives you the idea for them? Do you just feel like making a new one, or is there some kind of catalyst for their creation? Just wondering.Anyway, I've been feeling pretty down lately cos I've had relationship troubles. Arrietty, you know of whom I speak. Lots of work regarding the relationship of late. Not 100% if I'm doing the right thing, but I know i'm trying my hardest.
sabato 7 luglio 2007
New icon
Yippee! I made one!Luckily for me, I'm learning about Photoshop in my TAFE course at the moment, so I have a pretty good idea what I'm doing and I know how to work everything properly so I get the effects I want. I put quite a lot of effort into it, as well. I wanted to look at Jacksrubberduck's icon challenges, but the page wouldn't load. I have a couple more ideas for icons that I want to make, so I look forward to making them too.I spent a long time on the fic last night, so I think it's going to be a bit of a long one. Good good good! I'm really happy to be writing again. I hope it's a worth while fic and an enjoyable read. Someone please offer to beta read it for me!!! lol. No, no, I'm not begging and pleading yet, I'm just asking. *grinz*Well, that's it for now. I vow to write more on here from now on. And make more icons, lol. Oh, who was it that made those groovy banners??? Was it Amanda? If so, I still really want one, lol. Let me know if you've got the time and if you remember who I am, lol again.
giovedì 5 luglio 2007
Golly Gosh!
I miss talking to everyone here! I miss all the Stargate stuff and all the fantastic icons people make. They're so good! *Is jealous*Anyway! Gosh, I've been so lazy. Well, not really. I just haven't been remembering to write here much lately. But, those of you who know that I write fanfics (Arrietty, I hope you're listening *grinz*) I AM writing a new fic. Shock, horror, I know. But, i'm really excited cos I think it is going to be quite good when finished. It's in it's early-mid stages now and I would love it for someone to offer to Beta it for me, but if no one does I guess I'll just have to resort to begging and pleading, lol. It's also title-less at the moment, so if anyone would like to help me with that, please let me know and I'll be happy to give you a brief run-down on the plot.Umm...what else is new for me. I changed my Uni preferences to Arts degrees to hopefully major in linguistic studies and go on to be an Interpreter. Bit of a difference from Journalism, but doing my TAFE course for a year really made me sit down and evaluate my dreams a bit better and I think I've found my true interests lie in language and its origin, etc. So! I'm really excited about (hopefully) getting in to my course and enjoying it. AND I'm really excited about writing a new fic (cos I haven't written in ages).Well, not really that interesting I suppose, but I'm still quite excited (as I mentioned, lol).Arrietty, what happened to e-mailing each other? I know, I didn't do it either but I miss our big long e-mails. Anyway, I know you're busy, so it's cool. If you ever get the chance, drop me a line and we'll catch up.
mercoledì 4 luglio 2007
So
Well!What a boring, horrible life I lead. There's nothing interesting about it at all at the moment - aside from the fact that my boyfriend and I are happy. That's about the only high point. I HATE tafe. It's horrible - I'm learning about Microsoft Word and Photoshop! It's so boring! To do that sort of thing every week is just heart breaking. The only class where I have the potential to learn anything (my other useless class is learning about the Internet...well, clearly I know how to use that) is in a class where everyone else is smarter than me and knows a hell of a lot more about what they're doing than I do. A lot of the things that are required of me in that class, I have not yet learnt how to do - and I won't learn how to do them until next year - so I feel completely and utterly useless!Everything about this whole TAFE thing frustrates me to the point of madness - and every week I just feel more and more annoyed about the whole thing. I mean, just cos I wasn't a whizz at exams at the end of year 12 and f**ked up by getting shithouse marks, I couldn't get into University to study Journalism, which is what I REALLY want to learn, I have to do this horrible course for two years so that I can THEN get into Uni to study what I want. It's absolutely bullshit. The system for getting into University in this country is crap for those of us who just happen to get straight A's in nearly every class, but then it comes to exams and get B's and C's. Damned stupid high scores required to get into Journalism at University...
martedì 3 luglio 2007
Today's Stuff
Ok, so I said I was going to update my journal more and stuff, so here I am with my little bit of spare time for a change (now that I'm back at TAFE, I have less time which is good) and I'm writing!!! Yay!So, life's been ok lately. TAFE is good so far although one of my classes is just not improving that much. I'm really not enjoying it at all. I have to do a particular thing in it that I - stupidly - volunteered for, but wish I could get out of it now. The other people who were supposed to do it with me have all dropped out and I'm pretty much the ONLY person who is doing this thing - but I don't want to! I've already said so, but because everyone else who WAS going to help out has dropped out instead, I'm basically it. I wish I wasn't, but it's something that HAS to be done and now I'm stuck doing it, however unwillingly.Other than that, I got an outfit for the wedding of my cousin next weekend which I'm happy about. It's really nice so that's something sorted out. I'm going to get my mum 'Phantom of the Opera' on DVD for Mum's Day, and it's her birthday the week after, so I'm gonna buy her (I know it sounds boring) a box set of the Beatles DVDs, cos she's a mad fan. I reckon she'll love it. I was gonna try to get this really cool framed photo of the Beatles that she's seen and commented on before, but I'm not sure I'll find the right one, nor will I be able to afford it, so that might have to be for Christmas. That's cool though, cos at least I have an idea. I've had that one for a while now.My man and I are going well. We had a slight argument the other night about something that was, in my opinion, an argument we didn't need to have, but anyway, we sorted it out.So! That's the update of my life for the moment. Pretty exciting stuff!
lunedì 2 luglio 2007
Back to TAFE
Right, so finally I'm back at TAFE and actually have something to do again. I've been bored shitless for the past two weeks and had way too much drama for one person, so i'm glad to get back to some normal-ness. Hope to update my journal a little more often...we'll see how that goes.
domenica 1 luglio 2007
Nevermind
Forget about that request I made for help on how to get those brush strokes and things into Photoshop - I did it. It wasn't hard at all, it just took me a minute. Thanks to those who read my query and were considering responding.
My First Icon!
Ok, so it's nowhere near the standard of you guys, but give us a break - it's my first one. I changed a whole lot of settings from the original screen cap too, so I'm fairly proud of my first go. It's simple. Of course I will want to get a bit more complicated as I go, but for a first one, I didn't want to go too crazy and make it awful.I have to say, I don't know how to put those torn pages, etc. effects into Photoshop so I can use them. Could someone point me in the direction of how to do that? I tried to do it, but I don't think it worked. I'll have to check.Anyway, that's all.
Iscriviti a:
Commenti (Atom)