giovedì 26 luglio 2007

Getting better



So, I'm feeling a bit better from the sickness now. I had a trim yesterday (not that anyone could tell) and i got myself a bit of a fringe, thingo. I like it. I'm trying to do more with the mop, make it look a little more interesting than just being straight. Straighteners are such fun, really. You can do so much more than just straighten your hair. It is a misleading name for them. They should be Hair Do-Whatever-You-Wants, or Hair Thingos. Yep...i can see that name selling...Anyway, I went to Motorace concert last night with signif. other, his flat-mate and a friend of his. It was really good. I didn't previously know a lot of Motorace songs, only a couple, but it was really a great gig. It's so refreshing to hear a band play live and not sound like they're either all drunk, or sound like the actual band forgot to show up so the roadies pretended. I hate that people in the music industry get there based on absolutely shit-all talent. That mostly applies to soloists, not bands, although there are some shit bands around.I mean, what hope does a little nobody like me have in the music business? I'm not blonde and drop-dead gorgeous, so that's that out the window. I think I have a reasonable good voice, but it doesn't matter what I think, other people have said they like my voice before and I don't think they were just saying it to be nice (who knows, they might have been) either. I love to sing, it's probably the best thing on Earth to do - especially with people listening who are enjoying it too. I would absolutely LOVE to make it in the industry - whether in a band or solo, I wouldn't mind - because I believe I could make real music.It's so hard these days, because everyone new to the industry just releases poppy, bouncy, teeny-bopper music that basically gets stuck in your head whether you want it to or not, and then suddenly they're a superstar, based on what? The fact that someone else wrote them a really annoying, pop melody, and used machines to make their voice actually sound good, or because they actually started off with a real talent and people appreciate it? Obviously, it's the former.What happened to real music? Where are bands that people will remember for decades to come? People are in the spotlight today and gone tomorrow these days. Where are people like Billy Joel, The Beatles, Roy Orbison, The Carpenters, The Eagles, Marvin Gaye, Queen, Simon & Garfunkle - these are classic artists that are living on today and will still be remembered tomorrow. We don't see that anymore. There aren't any artists today with the longevity of the artists of yesterday. A few tracks, maybe a couple of albums that do all right, and five years later who remembers them?I can't be the only one who wishes there was more meaning to music these days. Admittedly, there are a lot of great artists out there and there are some great tracks, but SOOOOO much of today's music is just meaningless, catchy stuff. Don't get me wrong, catchy, enjoyable music is really important, but music should be able to do both - be catchy and have some meaning in it.Commercialising the music industry is it's biggest downfall. Now it's all about pumping out the albums and selling as many as possible. The people behind the music are not interested in what they're selling, they just want to make sure they sell it - and LOTS of it. That's why little nobodies like me will probably never see the light of day in the music industry, cos I mean really, you've gotta be totally in the right place at the right time (which is never for most people) and have the right person find you, because if you don't fit the bill in some way, then you've got no hope. And if you're a chick, you've GOT to be a looker, or you're definitely a goner.Unfortunately for me, I'd need about a million dollars worth of plastic surgery before I'd even be close to having the right face for the cover of a CD. So, I guess it's time to move on from that idea.*gets off soap box*

Nessun commento: