venerdì 14 settembre 2007

Friends



Anyone who is listening, please read on...I wish to add more friends to my list with similar interests, eg. Stargate SG-1 (primarily, of course, and I KNOW there are lots of you out there!) Alias, music, etc.So! For those of you few people already on my list, please ask your friends if they have room for one more if you know they share something in common with me, because I'd just LOVE to have a few more people to chat with.Thank you for listening, now you can return to whatever it was you were doing, lol.*returns to ebay shopping*

giovedì 13 settembre 2007

That icon I talked about



Yeah, this is that one I said I couldn't go and finish because I'd probably stuff it up.Well, I just finished it and I felt pleased (sort of) so I thought I'd just chuck it on and say, yep, here it is.

giovedì 6 settembre 2007

So, I'm totally clueless...



Well, obviously my icons suck... I just can't make them like I want to. I try to do this cool stuff and I think "Oh yeah, that looks awesome" and then I see everyone else's and I just go "well...obviously I was completely wrong".Everyone else...I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO MAKE GOOD ICONS!Footnote: I also need to make a cool banner for my LJ home thing cos it's too boring... HELP anyone?Right...now that I've got that out and made absolutely no sense, I'll come back to the life that makes no sense.So I'm totally happy that my ex is just that, and then I have a friend who likes me and I feel bad because I want to spend time with him, but only as a friend, and I don't know how to tell him without sounding awful. So, instead of doing that, I kind of avoid doing too many things with him, but then I feel guilty about that too... so basically I don't know what to do. *flails helplessly*What to do! Need friends, but don't really have any cos everyone seems to think I'm...well, I actually don't know what everyone seems to think, but clearly it's not good. And then I have the stupid year 12 reuinion coming up (why we are having a reuinion only one year after we finished is a total mystery to me) and I kind of want to go just to stick it to the pricks who will be there, but at the same time I don't want to go because I can't be stuffed spending two hours in a relatively small room with people I don't like (a feeling that is reciprocated, btw) and my ex...So there you go. What a stupid bitch that is.Never did get around to watching my favourite movie and laughing, either... I think I need to do that about now.Damn I wish it was cold so I could have a hot chocolate and snuggle in a big blanket on the couch while watching my favourite Stargate eps.

giovedì 30 agosto 2007

The Country Quiz...lol (your fault Alex!)



You're Egypt!Curator of ancient mystical secrets, your life on the surface is fairly typical these days. Though you are in denial about more things than most people. Nevertheless, you're trying to convince people that you're safe despite your more volatile and unstable times that seem to be behind you. You like cats a whole lot.You'd probably really appreciate The Blue Pyramid.Take the Country Quizat the Blue Pyramid

mercoledì 29 agosto 2007

Far out!



What the bloody hell is with this thing?!I've just been trying for like, 20 minutes to post a response to you Arrietty, and everytime, it says some shit about bogus comments. WTF is that?! Really aggravating me at this stage, as you might have guessed.Anyway!!!! What I was TRYING to say in that post is as follows:Thanks heaps.I wrote a shit load more stuff before, but when I went to post it, it came up with some error so I lost it all. Can't be bothered writing it all over again.I know I was saying that no one else must ever read my posts. I must spend all my time reading everyone else's and possibly responding to everyone else's, and no one bothers with mine. Either that, or they read them and be stuffed writing anything back. Or maybe they just don't give a shit.Maybe that's it...So there you go. Dammit, I think I've had a gut full. I want to go off and write more of my fic, but at this stage I think whatever I wrote would just suck, cos I would be too frustrated to write anything good. I also want to finish another icon I started yesterday, but again, I think it would just turn out to be crap if I do it now. I think I'll come back tomorrow when I'm (hopefully) in a better mood, after I've watched my favourite movie and laughed a lot, then spent an hour in the bathroom sweating profusely because of my HOT hair straightener which will only be exacerbated by the unexplainably hot weather we are experiencing at the moment.Oh the joys of being in a bitchy mood...

mercoledì 22 agosto 2007

My superhero name...lol



Your Superhero ProfileYour Superhero Name is The Phantom SailorYour Superpower is AccessorizingYour Weakness is PhilosophizingYour Weapon is Your Thunder BazookaYour Mode of Transportation is MopedWhat's your Superhero Name?

sabato 18 agosto 2007

What a bitch life can be...



Geeeeeeee-sus!What the hell is with life?! It's so bloody confusing and difficult and annoying and frustrating and ahhh!Tell me someone knows what I'm on about?Actually, no one on here ever responds to the stuff I say, so I'm thinking that I'm talking to myself most of the time anyway. Oh, except you Arrietty.So, even for those of you who aren't listening, which is almost everyone, the significant other and I have broken up. Thank God, in a lot of ways. It was a very unbalanced relationship that was basically all about him and neither of us could take it anymore. He wants different things to me and doesn't understand me at all, really. Didn't understand what I was trying to do, or what I was trying to help with. Not much point explaining it all, really, but let's just say I think that he's better to go and get what he wants (if you catch my drift) rather than pressuring me. It's clear we were not as made for each other as we might have hoped. Well, at least this way we know, though I doubt there is much hope of becoming friends now. Not even sure I'd want to, now.Oh well, life's a bitch. Everything'll go back to being all ordinary and boring again for a while and quite frankly, I think I'll enjoy ordinary for a while.So, thanks for listening no one. *goes back to her ordinary life that is actually quite refreshing*

mercoledì 15 agosto 2007

Another one



Yep, that's right, I've got nothing better to do, so I made another icon. Mores the pity that I don't have anything better to do, but anyhow. It's a beautiful picture, so I couldn't help myself. Tell me what you think if you can be bothered, otherwise there you go. Expect more today, folks... I have a strong feeling that the course of my day isn't about to change.*hangs head in shame*

lunedì 13 agosto 2007

New icon



Even though I'm "having one of those days" (sorta) as one of my other icons suggests, I couldn't resist Mushu. For those of you who don't know, Mushu is a guardian from the Disney classic, 'Mulan'. Very important to see this movie if you haven't already. Very cool.Yep, so that's where this one comes from. There you go.

giovedì 26 luglio 2007

Getting better



So, I'm feeling a bit better from the sickness now. I had a trim yesterday (not that anyone could tell) and i got myself a bit of a fringe, thingo. I like it. I'm trying to do more with the mop, make it look a little more interesting than just being straight. Straighteners are such fun, really. You can do so much more than just straighten your hair. It is a misleading name for them. They should be Hair Do-Whatever-You-Wants, or Hair Thingos. Yep...i can see that name selling...Anyway, I went to Motorace concert last night with signif. other, his flat-mate and a friend of his. It was really good. I didn't previously know a lot of Motorace songs, only a couple, but it was really a great gig. It's so refreshing to hear a band play live and not sound like they're either all drunk, or sound like the actual band forgot to show up so the roadies pretended. I hate that people in the music industry get there based on absolutely shit-all talent. That mostly applies to soloists, not bands, although there are some shit bands around.I mean, what hope does a little nobody like me have in the music business? I'm not blonde and drop-dead gorgeous, so that's that out the window. I think I have a reasonable good voice, but it doesn't matter what I think, other people have said they like my voice before and I don't think they were just saying it to be nice (who knows, they might have been) either. I love to sing, it's probably the best thing on Earth to do - especially with people listening who are enjoying it too. I would absolutely LOVE to make it in the industry - whether in a band or solo, I wouldn't mind - because I believe I could make real music.It's so hard these days, because everyone new to the industry just releases poppy, bouncy, teeny-bopper music that basically gets stuck in your head whether you want it to or not, and then suddenly they're a superstar, based on what? The fact that someone else wrote them a really annoying, pop melody, and used machines to make their voice actually sound good, or because they actually started off with a real talent and people appreciate it? Obviously, it's the former.What happened to real music? Where are bands that people will remember for decades to come? People are in the spotlight today and gone tomorrow these days. Where are people like Billy Joel, The Beatles, Roy Orbison, The Carpenters, The Eagles, Marvin Gaye, Queen, Simon & Garfunkle - these are classic artists that are living on today and will still be remembered tomorrow. We don't see that anymore. There aren't any artists today with the longevity of the artists of yesterday. A few tracks, maybe a couple of albums that do all right, and five years later who remembers them?I can't be the only one who wishes there was more meaning to music these days. Admittedly, there are a lot of great artists out there and there are some great tracks, but SOOOOO much of today's music is just meaningless, catchy stuff. Don't get me wrong, catchy, enjoyable music is really important, but music should be able to do both - be catchy and have some meaning in it.Commercialising the music industry is it's biggest downfall. Now it's all about pumping out the albums and selling as many as possible. The people behind the music are not interested in what they're selling, they just want to make sure they sell it - and LOTS of it. That's why little nobodies like me will probably never see the light of day in the music industry, cos I mean really, you've gotta be totally in the right place at the right time (which is never for most people) and have the right person find you, because if you don't fit the bill in some way, then you've got no hope. And if you're a chick, you've GOT to be a looker, or you're definitely a goner.Unfortunately for me, I'd need about a million dollars worth of plastic surgery before I'd even be close to having the right face for the cover of a CD. So, I guess it's time to move on from that idea.*gets off soap box*

venerdì 13 luglio 2007

Bad patient



God I hate it when I'm sick. I know I'm hardly knocking on death's door or anything, I'm suffering badly with hayfever mostly and possibly an oncoming cold, but other than that it's not the end of the world. I have a ridiculously annoying cough that won't give me a minute's peace, too. That's the hardest for me to deal with cos I can't sing properly. Singing is my vice - I HAVE to sing all the time and when I can't, I don't cope well.That whole thing about doctor's being the worst patients...I'm thinking of going to medical school. No really, I'm wondering if I'm supposed to be a doctor, cos I'm the worst person to be around when I'm even a little sick. I try to be all happy and everything, but mostly I'm just a cranky bitch. I can't help myself. I'm best left alone when sick, cos company just frustrates me. People want to make you better and everything and I just think "ahh! I'm not bleeding to death so there's nothing you can do, is there?! So clearly, you just have to put up with me and leave it alone. I'll get better."What a bitch I am, lol. No, I'm not that bad really, I just get a little short tempered when people keep asking if there's anything they can do, which clearly they can't. Silly, but that's the way it is for me. I wanted to make an icon, but I couldn't even get myself into the mood for that. Now that is really sad.None of the pics were good enough, lol. And the ones that were required too much work to make them look the way I wanted, so I just ended up too frustrated and gave up.Blah to it all, then, ai? I'm just gonna crawl back over to Word and keep going with my fic. When you feel frustrated, you can always take it out on your fic victims...*laughs maniacally and goes back to fic*

mercoledì 11 luglio 2007

My website



I definitely should do something about my site. I haven't even checked it out in over a year! Slack, I know. I shouldn't say I haven't got the time, because I kinda do, but I just never get around to it. I guess I'm quite envious of everyone else's websites, cos they're all so swell and mine is just ordinary.Anyway, I'm really enjoying making icons at the moment. Such fun, it is.Arrietty, thank you, thank you for your comments on the fic. You weren't too gentle were you? I did want your honest opinion. Well, I hope you were honest. Thank you anyway, very helpful hints. I hope you really enjoyed it. I am really pleased with this fic so far. I hope it turns out really well. I actually got the idea for it when I was watching the Season 1 box set. During Fire and Water (an ep I hadn't seen in a while) I was thinking a lot and the idea really just came to me.Well, there you go. That's about it. If anyone else wants a go at beta-reading the fic for me just for the hell of it and for me to get another opinion, I'd be grateful.Oh! And those icon challenges. I want to know about those. Someone please point me in the direction of those. Loves it! *grinz*P.S. Need help with fic title, too, Arrietty. Suggestions?

lunedì 9 luglio 2007

Always something



Gosh there's always something, isn't there? Always something to worry about, something to make you upset. Hence my new icon, really. Comments?Jacksrubberduck, I notice you have many posts throughout the day. Do you remember me? Please feel free to say, "Nope, totally have no idea who you are." I'm sure you would anyway, lol. Anyway, I was just thinking about all your icons. They really are very cool. For a lot of them, I wonder what gives you the idea for them? Do you just feel like making a new one, or is there some kind of catalyst for their creation? Just wondering.Anyway, I've been feeling pretty down lately cos I've had relationship troubles. Arrietty, you know of whom I speak. Lots of work regarding the relationship of late. Not 100% if I'm doing the right thing, but I know i'm trying my hardest.

sabato 7 luglio 2007

New icon



Yippee! I made one!Luckily for me, I'm learning about Photoshop in my TAFE course at the moment, so I have a pretty good idea what I'm doing and I know how to work everything properly so I get the effects I want. I put quite a lot of effort into it, as well. I wanted to look at Jacksrubberduck's icon challenges, but the page wouldn't load. I have a couple more ideas for icons that I want to make, so I look forward to making them too.I spent a long time on the fic last night, so I think it's going to be a bit of a long one. Good good good! I'm really happy to be writing again. I hope it's a worth while fic and an enjoyable read. Someone please offer to beta read it for me!!! lol. No, no, I'm not begging and pleading yet, I'm just asking. *grinz*Well, that's it for now. I vow to write more on here from now on. And make more icons, lol. Oh, who was it that made those groovy banners??? Was it Amanda? If so, I still really want one, lol. Let me know if you've got the time and if you remember who I am, lol again.

giovedì 5 luglio 2007

Golly Gosh!



I miss talking to everyone here! I miss all the Stargate stuff and all the fantastic icons people make. They're so good! *Is jealous*Anyway! Gosh, I've been so lazy. Well, not really. I just haven't been remembering to write here much lately. But, those of you who know that I write fanfics (Arrietty, I hope you're listening *grinz*) I AM writing a new fic. Shock, horror, I know. But, i'm really excited cos I think it is going to be quite good when finished. It's in it's early-mid stages now and I would love it for someone to offer to Beta it for me, but if no one does I guess I'll just have to resort to begging and pleading, lol. It's also title-less at the moment, so if anyone would like to help me with that, please let me know and I'll be happy to give you a brief run-down on the plot.Umm...what else is new for me. I changed my Uni preferences to Arts degrees to hopefully major in linguistic studies and go on to be an Interpreter. Bit of a difference from Journalism, but doing my TAFE course for a year really made me sit down and evaluate my dreams a bit better and I think I've found my true interests lie in language and its origin, etc. So! I'm really excited about (hopefully) getting in to my course and enjoying it. AND I'm really excited about writing a new fic (cos I haven't written in ages).Well, not really that interesting I suppose, but I'm still quite excited (as I mentioned, lol).Arrietty, what happened to e-mailing each other? I know, I didn't do it either but I miss our big long e-mails. Anyway, I know you're busy, so it's cool. If you ever get the chance, drop me a line and we'll catch up.

mercoledì 4 luglio 2007

So



Well!What a boring, horrible life I lead. There's nothing interesting about it at all at the moment - aside from the fact that my boyfriend and I are happy. That's about the only high point. I HATE tafe. It's horrible - I'm learning about Microsoft Word and Photoshop! It's so boring! To do that sort of thing every week is just heart breaking. The only class where I have the potential to learn anything (my other useless class is learning about the Internet...well, clearly I know how to use that) is in a class where everyone else is smarter than me and knows a hell of a lot more about what they're doing than I do. A lot of the things that are required of me in that class, I have not yet learnt how to do - and I won't learn how to do them until next year - so I feel completely and utterly useless!Everything about this whole TAFE thing frustrates me to the point of madness - and every week I just feel more and more annoyed about the whole thing. I mean, just cos I wasn't a whizz at exams at the end of year 12 and f**ked up by getting shithouse marks, I couldn't get into University to study Journalism, which is what I REALLY want to learn, I have to do this horrible course for two years so that I can THEN get into Uni to study what I want. It's absolutely bullshit. The system for getting into University in this country is crap for those of us who just happen to get straight A's in nearly every class, but then it comes to exams and get B's and C's. Damned stupid high scores required to get into Journalism at University...

martedì 3 luglio 2007

Today's Stuff



Ok, so I said I was going to update my journal more and stuff, so here I am with my little bit of spare time for a change (now that I'm back at TAFE, I have less time which is good) and I'm writing!!! Yay!So, life's been ok lately. TAFE is good so far although one of my classes is just not improving that much. I'm really not enjoying it at all. I have to do a particular thing in it that I - stupidly - volunteered for, but wish I could get out of it now. The other people who were supposed to do it with me have all dropped out and I'm pretty much the ONLY person who is doing this thing - but I don't want to! I've already said so, but because everyone else who WAS going to help out has dropped out instead, I'm basically it. I wish I wasn't, but it's something that HAS to be done and now I'm stuck doing it, however unwillingly.Other than that, I got an outfit for the wedding of my cousin next weekend which I'm happy about. It's really nice so that's something sorted out. I'm going to get my mum 'Phantom of the Opera' on DVD for Mum's Day, and it's her birthday the week after, so I'm gonna buy her (I know it sounds boring) a box set of the Beatles DVDs, cos she's a mad fan. I reckon she'll love it. I was gonna try to get this really cool framed photo of the Beatles that she's seen and commented on before, but I'm not sure I'll find the right one, nor will I be able to afford it, so that might have to be for Christmas. That's cool though, cos at least I have an idea. I've had that one for a while now.My man and I are going well. We had a slight argument the other night about something that was, in my opinion, an argument we didn't need to have, but anyway, we sorted it out.So! That's the update of my life for the moment. Pretty exciting stuff!

lunedì 2 luglio 2007

Back to TAFE



Right, so finally I'm back at TAFE and actually have something to do again. I've been bored shitless for the past two weeks and had way too much drama for one person, so i'm glad to get back to some normal-ness. Hope to update my journal a little more often...we'll see how that goes.

domenica 1 luglio 2007

Nevermind



Forget about that request I made for help on how to get those brush strokes and things into Photoshop - I did it. It wasn't hard at all, it just took me a minute. Thanks to those who read my query and were considering responding.

My First Icon!



Ok, so it's nowhere near the standard of you guys, but give us a break - it's my first one. I changed a whole lot of settings from the original screen cap too, so I'm fairly proud of my first go. It's simple. Of course I will want to get a bit more complicated as I go, but for a first one, I didn't want to go too crazy and make it awful.I have to say, I don't know how to put those torn pages, etc. effects into Photoshop so I can use them. Could someone point me in the direction of how to do that? I tried to do it, but I don't think it worked. I'll have to check.Anyway, that's all.

sabato 23 giugno 2007

Question



I clicked on the link to ses_gatergirl's LJ and noticed that she has a GREAT collage at the top of the page. HOW DO YOU DO THAT? That is MAJORLY cool! I love it! Someone please give me tips to get with the rest of the world...I want my LJ to look super cool too!By the way, checked out ses_gatergirl's icons - very nice! Big fan. Sorry, don't know her (I assume?) name, but please keep up the excellent work. Loves it.

martedì 12 giugno 2007

Meaningless ramblings



I wrote a whole lot of shit that's going through my head at the moment, just before, but when I clicked the stupid button to post it, nothing happened. Told me I was trying to post something in the past... or something. Anyway, it's not important now I guess - just crap about my recent relationship demise that was particularly harsh...Anyway, just thought I'd try to post something again to see if it worked.

sabato 12 maggio 2007

Nothing really



In response to my previous entry, I'd just like to say, that I really am a clueless person...in case anyone wanted to know. By the way, i love this icon, made by Arrietty. She's the best, and I love Jack. Yep, that's about all now.

martedì 8 maggio 2007

My first message



Hi everyone... My first entry in my LJ...pretty exciting. Now i just have to wait for people to start bombarding me with messages telling me that i'm really cool and interesting, lol. Or maybe not, but I can dream. So get on your computers LJers, it's time to chat to the newbie! Pretty please?Take care everyone,Love Mel